Library: Chemistry & Chemical Engineering (CCE): Property Info

Property Databases

Electronic resources are restricted to members of the Caltech community with a current access.caltech account unless otherwise indicated - you will be taken to the library proxy login if accessing from off-campus. Publicly available resources are indicated by the text Open Access in the description.

SpringerMaterials
The online version of the Landolt-Börnstein print reference work. It also includes data from numerous other sources. We are working on creating tutorial material but if you have any questions on using this resource please contact me.
An alternate, older search interface can be found here: http://lb.chemie.uni-hamburg.de/
SciFinder-n @ Caltech
Some property data is reported in the SciFinder database along with references to primary literature reporting those values. You can search by substance name or structure.
ChemSpider
Open Access. Validated database of over 26 million substances from over 400 data sources. Links to primary research where available and verified.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
A part of CHEMnetBASE, one of the most popular reference books for tabulated physical and chemical data. Includes full search capability.

The interface for the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is split into three sections: Table of Contents Window (left side), New and Revised Tables (center) and a Text Search box and links to Structure/Property Search and Help (upper right). A search can be more specific by using multiple parameters. For instance, you can draw a chemical structure and combine this with other physical data or data ranges. Section 19 includes Tables from Older Editions (e.g. Properties of Ammine Complexes of Metals).
DIPPR: Design Institute for Physical Properties
Ask a librarian for the login/password. DIPPR contains experimental data and temperature-dependent properties for over 1,800 pure chemicals. The PROPERTY search tab allows searching for a physical property within a defined range of values.

Common Chemistry (Chemical Abstracts Service)
Open Access. Contains CAS Registry file information for over 500,000 general interest chemicals. Searchable by chemical name, synonym, or CAS Registry Number. Provides basic data and Wikipedia link (if available).

International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Open Access. This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.

Kaye & Laby Tables of Physical & Chemical Constants (16th Ed.)
Open Access. The entire, unedited contents of the 16th edition (1995), containing tables of data, formulae, graphs and charts. Topics from fundamental constants to fibre optics, superconductivity to Raman spectroscopy, etc. Contents will be regularly reviewed and updated at the (UK) National Physical Laboratory.
Knovel Critical Tables (2nd Edition)
Materials Project
"... the Materials Project provides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as powerful analysis tools to inspire and design novel materials." Provides information on ~60K compounds and ~44K Band Structures.
MatWeb
(Mostly) Open Access. Data sheets for over 85,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, chemical elements, and composites. Search - Physical Properties (category + property ranges), Alloy Composition (category + property ranges) or Material Type, Manufacturer Name, Trade Name, Metal UNS Number

PubChem
Open Access. NLM database of compounds, substances, and bioassays, focusing on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem provides substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data for small molecules in three primary databases, PCsubstance, PCcompound, and PCbioassay.

Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS (AIST, Japan)
Open Access. Compiled by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology in Japan. Contains mass spec, proton and C13 NMR, FT-IR, Raman, and ESR data for about 34,000 compounds combined. More information (including a disclaimer about accuracy) can be found here.
KDB - Korean Thermophysical Properties Databank
"This page provides useful inforamtion about thermophysical properties and calculation methods for hydrocarbons, light gases, polymers and electrolyte solutions commonly encountered in chemical engineering practices."
"Themophysical properties and equilbrium data for 2000 hydrocarbons and light gases; 200 polymers and solvents; and 2000 electrolyte solutions."
NMRShiftDB
nmrshiftdb2 is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. The nmrshiftdb2 software is open source, the data is published under an open content license. The core of nmrshitdb2 are fully assigned spectra with raw data and peak lists (we have pure peak lists as well).
ULProspector
A free service (with registration) that collects technical data from thousands of suppliers. Products include: metals and alloys, plastics and plastics additives. Metal properties (examples) include: physical (density), mechanical (tensile), thermal (specific heat), electrical (conductivity). Plastic properties (examples) include: Physical (shrinkage), Hardness, Mechanical (tensile, flexural), Impact, Thermal (softening), Flammability, Injection data
EPA Chemistry Dashboard

Periodic Tables

Visual Elements Periodic Table (Royal Society of Chemistry)
"The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table." (website description)

All are Open Access unless otherwise noted!

PTable Dynamic Periodic Table
Dynamic periodic table that shows information about states, proerties, isotopes, orbitals, compounds formed, and more.
ChemiCool Periodic Table of Elements and Chemistry
Clicking on an element displays physical and chemical properties, and links to YouTube demos
Periodic Table of Videos
Short YouTube lectures and demonstrations.
The Periodic Table of Elements
Based on Wolfram Mathematica's ElementData. Links to pictures (including minerals), technical & isotope data. Technical data link provides graphical comparisons with other elements.
Web Elements of the Periodic Table
Tabbed browsing of elements (history, biology, thermochemistry), compounds (binary and complexes), periodicity(physical properties), chemistry books, etc.
Periodic Table (American Elements)
A periodic table with links to descriptions, physical properties and recent literature references. Each element's page has a listing of related commercial compounds with links to descriptive pages.

Chemical Property Bibliographies

Finding Chemical Spectra and Spectral Data: Web Sources
A comprehensive listing of web resources, general print sources and a description of Sadtler Spectra collections. These are followed by a listing of specific print resources, a guide to searching the literature and the Electromagnetic Spectrum. UT-Austin
Finding Physical and Chemical Properties
A handy listing of physical properties in both print and web resources ... with links. Vanderbilt University
Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data
A listing of standard reference sources along with a comprehensive index of properties ans substances that are linked to both print (with World Cat links) and web resources. Arizona State University
Materials Property Locator Database
An index to reference books containing property data (mechanical, physical, electrical, thermal, etc.) for various types of materials. Click the Index of Terms to select a property and/or a type of material. Univ. Buffalo
Spectra & Spectral Data
A guide to references sources grouped by spectra type or by compound type. Univ. Buffalo
ThermoDex: An Index of Selected Thermodynamic and Physical Property Resources
ThermoDex contains annotated bibliographic records that describe compilations of thermodynamic and physical property data for chemical compounds and other substances. Entering both a property and type of compound provides a list of handbooks that might contain these data. UT-Austin
ThermoLit
Freely Available. "NIST Literature Report Builder for Thermophysical and Thermochemical Property Measurements". ThermoLit gives you the conditions for the measurement and the full literature reference, but NOT the actual property value.
Thermophysical Properties of Matter
A 14 volume collection of data on: Thermal conductivity, v.1-3; Specific Heat, v.4-6; Thermal Radiative Properties, v. 7-9; Thermal Diffusivity, v.10; Viscosity, v.11; Thermal Expansion, v.12-13; Master index to materials and properties, v.14.
Thermophysical Properties Research Literature Retrieval Guide, 1900-1980
v.1. Elements; v.2. Inorganic compounds; v.3. Organic compounds and polymeric materials; v.4. Alloys, intermetallic compounds, and cermets; v.5. Oxide mixtures and minerals; v.6. Mixtures and solutions; v.7. Coatings, systems, composites, foods, animal and vegetable products

Physical Property Data

Covalent Radii and van der Waals Radii
Microsoft Excel tables (sorted by name, symbol, period, and group) of the chemical elements with symbol; period; group; block; At. No.; At. Weight; covalent radium and van der Waals radius.
Data & Property Calculation Websites
Listings of both Data Sites, Calculation/Program Download Sites, Organizations, and a brief bibliography.
Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
The "Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data objective ... is to provide critically evaluated physical and chemical property data, fully documented as to the original sources and the criteria used for evaluation, preferably with uncertainty analysis."
JPCRD Supplements / Monographs
Collections of "critically evaluated physical and chemical property data, fully documented as to the original sources and the criteria used for evaluation, preferably with uncertainty analysis." For example, Heat Capacities, Atomic Energy Levels, etc.

NIST Data Gateway
Links to selected online NIST databases (both free and those available for purchase). Search with keywords, properties or substances, or link to a list of free NIST databases, with descriptions. Search for JPCRD journal articles by title, author, year published, keyword or substance.

PolyInfo
Requires free registration. Polymer properties, structures, names, processing, and methods. ~100 types of properties including thermal, electrical and mechanical are range searchable.
WolframAlpha
Provides "dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods." Recently updated information on solution chemistry (e.g. miscibility, concentration calculations)

Chemical Catalogs

Strem Chemicals
Includes technical notes with compound properties and literature references.