Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Becoming Caltech Presentations
Becoming Caltech, 1910–1930: Presentations from the Archives
A century ago, a small institution called Throop Polytechnic Institute dramatically reinvented itself, transforming from a manual arts academy to an engineering school, then expanding into a research institute. In 1920, it became the California Institute of Technology. In summer 2020, Caltech archivists gave a series of livestreamed presentations on the science, engineering, architecture, and community life of early Caltech. You can find below links to video of these presentations, and a bibliography of further reading.
Session 1, Commencement Edition. Thursday, June 11, 5:00–6:15
Session 2, Thursday, June 25, 5:00–6:00
Session 3, Thursday, July 9, 5:00–6:00
Session 4, Thursday, July 23, 5:00–6:00
Session 5, Thursday, August 6, 5:00–6:00
Session 6, Thursday, August 20, 5:00–6:00
- Garland E. Allen, Thomas Hunt Morgan: The Man and His Science (1978).
- Phillip Balch, “Allan Christopher Balch: Pioneer in the Electric Industry,” Balchipedia: The Encyclopedia of Baltch History, 2017.
- Manton M. Barnes, “Hail CIT” and “In This Issue,” Engineering and Science, November 1948.
- The Big T yearbook.
- Bulletin of the California Institute of Technology.
- Charles L. Burdick, “The Genesis and Beginning of X-Ray Crystallography at Caltech,” in Fifty Years of X-Ray Diffraction (1962).
- Imra W. Buwalda, “The Roots of the California Institute of Technology III,” Engineering and Science, December 1966.
- California Tech student newspaper.
- Caltech News.
- Central Docents, “Lee Lawrie,” Los Angeles Public Library Blog, January 7, 2015.
- Peter Sachs Collopy and Jennifer Torres-Siders, “‘Throops Superlative Opportunity’: The Story of the Gates Laboratory of Chemistry” (2017).
- Peter Sachs Collopy and Jennifer Torres-Siders, “Building a Chemistry Division” (2017).
- Engineering and Science magazine.
- Horace N. Gilbert, interview by Mary Terrall, 1978, Caltech Archives Oral History Project.
- Judith R. Goodstein, Millikan’s School: A History of the California Institute of Technology (1991).
- Judith R. Goodstein, “Olga Taussky-Todd,” Notices of the American Mathematical Society 67, no. 3 (2020).
- Judith R. Goodstein and Donald Babbitt, “E. T. Bell and Mathematics at Caltech Between the Wars,” Notices of the American Mathematical Society 60, no. 6 (2013).
- Judith R. Goodstein and Alice Stone, Caltech’s Throop Hall (1981).
- Gregory Paul Harm, Lee Lawrie’s Prairie Deco: History in Stone at the Nebraska State Capitol (2011).
- Gregory P. Harm, LeeLawrie.com.
- Abraham Hoffman, “Albert Einstein at Caltech,” California History 76, no. 4 (1997).
- Charles H. Holbrow, “The Giant Cancer Tube and the Kellogg Radiation Laboratory,” Physics Today 34, no. 7 (1981).
- L. Winchester Jones, interview by Mary Terrall, 1978, Caltech Archives Oral History Project.
- Robert Kargon, “Birth Cries of the Elements: Theory and Experiment along Millikan’s Route to Cosmic Rays,” in The Analytic Spirit: Essays in the History of Science in Honor of Henry Guerlac (1981).
- Lily E. Kay, The Molecular Vision of Life: Caltech: The Rockefeller Foundation, and the Rise of the New Biology (1993).
- Katherine Keenan, “Lilian Vaughan Morgan (1870–1952): Her Life and Work,” American Zoologist 23 (1983).
- Robert E. Kohler, Lords of the Fly: Drosophila Genetics and the Experimental Life (1994).
- Mayo Hayes O'Donnell Library, “Janet Jacks.”
- Elliot Meyerowitz, “History of the Division of Biology and Biological Engineering” (2020).
- National Academy of Science, The National Academy of Science Building: A Home for Science in America (2013).
- J. Alex Navarro and Howard Markel, editors, The American Influenza Epidemic of 1918–1919: A Digital Encyclopedia (2016).
- Linus Pauling, “Early Work on X-Ray Diffraction in the California Institute of Technology,” in Fifty Years of X-Ray Diffraction (1962).
- Stefanos Polyzoides, “Bertram Goodhue and the Architecture of Caltech, 1915 to 1939,” Classicist no. 15 (2018).
- Constance Reid, The Search for E. T. Bell, Also Known as John Taine (1993).
- Charles Richter, interview by Ann Scheid, 1978, Caltech Archives Oral History Project.
- John D. Roberts, interview by Rachel Prud’homme, 1985, Caltech Archives Oral History Project.
- Kevin Starr, Material Dreams: Southern California Through the 1920s (1990).
- Throop College Bulletin.
- Robert Winter and David Gebhard, An Architectural Guidebook to Los Angeles (2003).
- Romy Wyllie, Caltech’s Architectural Heritage: From Spanish Tile to Modern Stone (2000).