WorldWideScience.orgA global science gateway ... federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals, with clustered results. Provides multilingual searching.
The beta version of Multilingual WorldWideScience
* Adds twenty-two foreign language databases to the fifty-four English language databases searched by WorldWideScience.
* Allows users to select one of nine languages into which to translate search results. (English is the default)
* Translates terms entered in the search box into the eight other languages to search the foreign language databases (Chinese, German, French, Spanish, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, & Russian).
* Translates titles and summaries from the foreign language databases on each results screen into the language chosen on the initial search screen.
* Displays a split screen with the original citation on the left and a translated citation on the right when the translated title is clicked on the results list.
* Displays a split-screen translation of the full-text, if a link to the full-text is present in the translated citation.
WorldWideScience.org is a federated search portal that searches international scientific and technical literature. The service is offered by the WorldWideScience Alliance, which is a “governance structure” for the search portal. The portal was created by the OSTI (like Science Accelerator). WorldWideScience.org has a multilingual interface, accessible on the homepage or through the advanced search form, which allows the user to select a language to search in (translations are powered by Microsoft Translator).
Search features and results are very similar to the Science Accelerator portal, with quick or advanced search forms, all searchable resources listed below the advanced search form, results ranked by relevance, result topics (and common authors, publishers, publications, and dates) listed in a sidebar on one side of the hit list, results from Wikipedia and EurekaAlert on the other side of the hit list, options to print or email results, and the option to turn the search into an automatic alert (for registered users). WorldWideScience.org divides results into two lists (accessible through tabs at the top of the hit list): Papers and Multimedia. An option at the top of the hit list also gives user the option to “Translate Results” (although this feature didn’t seem to be functioning correctly at the time of testing).
