Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Abbreviation Sources / Reference Formatting
All that JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources)
"Journal Abbreviation Sources is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations or other types of abbreviated publication titles (e.g., conference proceedings titles)."
Journal title abbreviations from early chemical literature and other historical reference sources that may not be listed in the CASSI Search Tool. Includes Beilstein (1910) / Gmelin (1926) journal abbreviations - complete lists were published in Beilstein (Main Work, v.1, p. XXV) and Gmelin (8th ed. System #1, p. XXV-XXXI).. Compiled by Marion Peters, UCLA Librarian Emeritus.
CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
Contains a listing of publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications. Search by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN. Limit of 100 answers per search. It compliments the print CASSI [Z5523 A524] which includes library holdings, etc. Provided by CAS as a public service. More about CASSI.
CLICAPS (ETHZ) OPAC
Journals cataloged according to CASSI with full title, 9000 abbreviated titles, 4400 CODEN, succeeding and preceding title, etc.
All search strings are right truncated.
Abbreviations include: J Am Chem Soc and JACS
All search strings are automatically connected by Boolean AND
Search is case insensitive
Stop words will be filtered if not marked.
Journal Abbreviation Resources on the Web
If you know the full title, but need to know the "approved" abbreviation for a journal...
If you know the abbreviation, but need to know the full title of a journal...
Samples of Formatted References for Authors of (medical) Journal Articles. 43 examples from 'journal articles' to 'Data Sets'.
Web of Science Journal Title Abbreviations
ACS journals - Acceptance Dates, etc.
Availability of acceptance dates vary by journal and not all dates are available. Journals like Accounts of Chemical Research do not publish Just Accepted Manuscripts online, just a received date, “ASAP” date, and published in issue date. ASAP is not the same as accepted date.
For journals that do feature Just Accepted Manuscripts, like JACS, you find an additional entry for Just Accepted Manuscript date.
bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. Authors may submit a revised version of an article to bioRxiv at any time and can update the bioRxiv record with a link to a version of an article that has been published in a journal. Once posted on bioRxiv, articles are citable and therefore cannot be removed.
Keeping Up and Looking Back
Numerous current awareness options are described ... free article alerts based on keywords, e-mail receipt of tables of contents of each new journal issue, and notification of each new citation to a specific journal article ... from individual publisher websites. Similar subscription based options are available in SciFinder, Web of Science, etc.
"PeerJ is an Open Access, peer-reviewed, scholarly journal. It considers articles in the Biological Sciences, Medical Sciences, and Health Sciences". PeerJ Preprints can be submitted 'free of charge' and are fully CC-BY.
Early View is an Online Version of Record published before inclusion in an issue. Every Early View article carries an online publication date and a DOI for citations.
The Accepted Articles are Accepted, unedited articles published online and citable. The final edited and typeset version of record will appear in future.
Cost of Knowledge - Elsevier Protest
If you would like to declare publicly that you will not support any Elsevier journal unless they radically change how they operate, then you can do so by filling in your details on this page.
"DeepDyve has aggregated millions of articles across thousands of journals from the world's leading publishers, including Springer, Nature Publishing Group, Wiley-Blackwell and more."
Get It Now
"Get It Now from Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) complements your interlibrary loan (ILL) services by providing library patrons with the immediate fulfillment of full-text articles from unsubscribed journals — 24 hours a day, 7 days a week — through a, cost-effective, and easy-to-use application integrated into your ILL workflow and/or OpenURL link resolver."
International research journals with price/article or price/citation data. Downloadable data and five previous versions. Provided by Ted Bergstrom and Preston McAfee.
Methodology is described at:https://www.mcafee.cc/Journal/explanation2011.html
Journals that charge authors (and not for open access publication)
Paying for publication
"These pages aim to demystify some of the aspects of payment for publication, beginning with publication costs and a description of the hybrid model. Click through to find more about the cost of hybrid, addressing double dipping, a discussion about whether open access funds support open access, and a look at what hybrid actually pays for. There is also an analysis of the membership model for open access publishing with a discussion of the attendant issues relating to managing article processing charges."
ReadCube Access / ReadCube Desktop
"ReadCube Access (click on Nature Press Release) offers over 100 journal titles from launch partner Nature Publishing Group, including Nature magazine, Nature Biotechnology, and Nature Reviews titles. Currently, you will find a ReadCube Access option on nature.com pages for Nature magazine and 18 Nature research titles. Using ReadCube Desktop, you can purchase or rent articles from over 100 NPG journal titles."
Wiley - Article Select
"Wiley Enhanced Online License customers can use Article Select Tokens to obtain access to unsubscribed journal articles including backfiles, chapters in Online Books, entries in Online Reference Works and Current Protocols. There is a minimum purchase of 100 tokens. Prices per token starts at USD33.25. "
CrossRef / DOI / CrossMark / CrossCheck
"CrossCheck powered by iThenticate ... helps its members ... prevent ... plagiarism ... compares authored work against the content in the database and highlight matching or similar text for further editorial review."
Clicking on a CrossMark logo indicates if the document is current or if updates are available. IUCr journals (HTML from 2001, PDF from 2005) and Royal Society journals (2011+)
CrossRef is the registry for DOIs and provides three ways for you to locate a DOI, e.g., journal title, volume and page number.
CrossREf/DataCite-DOI Content Negotiation
CrossRef and DataCite support content negotiated DOIs via https://data.crossref.org and https://data.datacite.org. STM-DataCite Joint Statement at: https://www.stm-assoc.org/2012_06_14_STM_DataCite_Joint_Statement.pdf
"FundRef allows publisher members to deposit funding data with (or after) the metadata they already provide to CrossRef for reference linking. The data is available ..."
Author sites - ID / ranking / h-index
Google Scholar Profiles
Search Google with, for example: "Verified email at ucdavis.edu" chemistry -label
Manual calculation of h-index
"The h-index is an index that attempts to measure both the productivity and impact of the published work of a scientist or scholar. "
Normalization of h-indexes
Reports on a project by an Indiana group to correct h-index rankings so as to be able to compare people across disciplines, by the obvious method of normalization.
Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID)- U Michigan
"This guide will walk you through ORCID. It will provide information about ORCID, its purpose, and how to register and use it to distinguish you, your research and your publications. To access ORCID, visit ORCID.ORG"
RePEc Author Service
Links economists with their research output in the RePEc bibliographic database at: https://repec.org/
Reprints: Journal Articles in Books
Journal rank/Impact Factor/Alt Metrics/Peer Review
82 things publishers do (2014)
"journal publishers have been under pressure to prove that they add value beyond managing peer-review and doing some basic copy editing and formatting."
AIP Library Matters - Altmetrics interview with Carol Feltes
"At this time there is a flurry of new ideas and activities causing both excitement and confusion. Bibliometric tools, originally created as indicators and selection aids for librarians, were adopted by researchers and administrators looking for performance measures. Now they realize that these early metrics are not meant for, and do not meet, their needs."
"Altmetrics is the creation and study of new metrics based on the Social Web for analyzing, and informing scholarship."
Altmetrics: A 21st-Century solution to determining research quality
Online Searcher (2013), 37(4), 11-15.
"The Altmetrics Bibliography includes selected English-language articles and technical reports that are useful in understanding altmetrics."
Beall's Misleading Metrics
"This is a list of questionable companies that purport to provide valid scholarly metrics at the researcher, article, or journal level" which now numbers almost 30 ...
Citation Metrics (Syracuse University)
"Citation analysis is a quantifiable measure of academic output and may help inform decisions on promotion and tenure. This guide is designed to help faculty members and librarians use and understand the tools available to us."
Citation Research (Arizona State University)
"How to find citation counts for your publications and how to find journal rankings such as impact factors."
Cost Effectiveness for Open Access Journals
"A new online tool allows researchers to compare open-access journal publication fees with article influence, and reveals that you don’t necessarily get what you pay for." https://www.the-scientist.com//?articles.view/articleNo/34097/title/Cheap-Impact-/
Future Citation Rate
"A mechanistic model for the citation dynamics of individual papers, allowing the collapse the citation histories of papers from different journals and disciplines into a single curve, indicating that all papers tend to follow the same universal temporal pattern."
Google Scholar Metrics
h5-index is the h-index for articles published in the last 5 complete years.
h5-median is the median number of citations for h5-index.
International Scientific Indexing
"ISI is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals. Reported to provide questionable metrics.
Journal Impact Factors (Michigan State University)
"This guide provides information on what journal impact factors are, different factors that influence impact factors, how to find impact factors, and additional readings. The examples and readings in this guide are geared towards the health sciences."
Journal Quality Factor Reports
"The Directory of Journal Quality Factor-DJQF is a gateway that includes the journals and developed from the information of the journals. Reported to provide questionable metrics.
Knockoffs Erode Trust in Metrics Market
"If the Internet created a burgeoning market of cheap academic journal knockoffs, should we be surprised to witness new knockoff ratings companies?" A review of "Spurious alternative impact factors"
Measure Your Research Impact - UNC Libraries
"Research impact is the demonstrable contribution that excellent research makes to academia, society and the economy:
Academic impact : Contribution to academic advances, across and within disciplines, in understanding, methods, theory and application
Societal impact: Benefit to individuals, organizations and nations by enhancing quality of life, health and creative output, and increasing the effectiveness of public services and policy
Economic impact: Attracting investment, wealth creation, enhanced national and global competitiveness"
Neuroscience Peer Review Consortium
"The Neuroscience Peer Review Consortium is an alliance of neuroscience journals that have agreed to accept manuscript reviews from other members of the Consortium. Its goals are to support efficient and thorough peer review of original research in neuroscience, speed the publication of research reports, and reduce the burden on peer reviewers."
Peerage of Science
"Peer review in Peerage of Science consists of four stages. Each stage has a deadline, set by the Authors upon sending their manuscript and displayed to Peers deciding whether to engage as a Reviewer. Deadlines are automatically enforced once the process starts, it is not possible for anyone to ask for an extension. When a stage is completed before its deadline and the process continues to the next stage earlier than expected, the deadline of that next stage does not change."
PreSCORE: A Metric for the Quality of Peer Review
"... a new metric that ”measures the level of peer review conducted prior to the publication of scholarly material.”
PubPeer; the online journal club
"PubPeer seeks to create an online community that uses the publication of scientific results as an opening for fruitful discussion among scientists. With PubPeer, scientists can comment on almost any scientific article published with a DOI or preprint in the arXiv."
Research Impact Measures (University of Minnesota)
"... tips on how to find and calculate ... measures, guidance on the strengths and weaknesses of the data, a context for using the tools, and an understanding of what the numbers actually report."
Scholarly Impact Tools (Georgia State University)
"This guide includes sources and tools that can be used to create comprehensive evidence of scholarly impact for promotion and/or tenure reviews, annual evaluations, and other applications."
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
"Journals and country scientific indicators developed from Scopus database since 1966 using Google PageRank.
Spurious alternative impact factors
"The recent explosion in the number of predatory journals has led to the appearance of questionable websites providing fake or spurious impact factors, which are analyzed and discussed here. We believe that academic associations, universities, and research funding bodies must take action to stop these questionable practices."
Thomson Reuters Journal Impact Factor
This essay was originally published in the Current Contents print editions June 20, 1994, when Thomson Reuters was known as The Institute for Scientific Information® (ISI®).
Web of Science - Impact Factor / citable items
Impact Factors are the #citations/#citable items. Citable items are scholarly items in the journal, primarily research articles and reviews, but also scholarly commentary, essays, and discussion that add to the literature of the subject.
Citable items do not include: editorials, minor editorial correspondence, general news items, small opinion essays, biographical items, interviews, letters, reprints, or minor non-scholarly works as citable items.
Each journal is evaluated individually for the characteristics of the items in each section.