Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Annalen der Physik - Series & Total volume numbering, Editors
"Vol. = Volume = total volume count, with a continous counting of all volumes since 1799
Band (German for Volume) = Volume Counting within a series (German "Reihe" or "Folge"),
Folge = series, there exist eight series until today,
Reihe = within a Folge (German for series) there can be sub-series (= Reihen), see for example Poggendorff's Annalen from 1824 onwards. PLEASE NOTE: To distinguish between the total volume count numbering and the classical (historic) citation form, the term Band and Serie has been adapted for use within a Folge whereas Volume (as total volume number) is used as modern citation form. Herausgeber (Hrsg.) is here translated as Editor-in-Chief, or shortly E-i-C
Redakteur (Red.) or Mitredakteur is translated as Editor (Ed.) "
CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
Quickly identify or confirm journal titles and ISO Standard Abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, etc. Search by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN.
Note that there is a limit of 50 answers per search. It compliments the print CASSI [Z5523 A524] which includes library holdings, etc.
CrossRef, which is responsible for the journal level DOI, has a database of journal information, searchable by title, abbreviation, ISSN, or subject. It also provides the years for which a DOI exists for a given journal.
Finding NLM Serials Data and MEDLINE Indexed Journals
List of journals currently indexed in MEDLINE
NLM Serials data
List of Serials Indexed for Online Users
Journals Recently Accepted ... for ... MEDLINE
List of All Journals Cited in PubMed
Currently Digitized 5,574,855 book titles and 276,413 serial titles, of which about 30% are public domain. Offers Catalog Search, Full Text Search and Collections Search.
HighWire ... free afer embargo
HighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth! As of 3/25/15, we are assisting in the online publication of 2,434,604 free full-text articles and 7,659,003 total articles. There are 26 sites with free trial periods, and 157 completely free sites. 284 sites have free back issues, and 1493 sites have pay per view!
"JournalGuide is a free tool that helps researchers to evaluate scholarly journals.
In addition to searching by journal name, category or publisher, authors can use the title and abstract of a paper to discover journals that have already published articles on similar topics."
"MDPI.com, the website of the Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute, is a platform for peer-reviewed, scientific open-access journals operated by MDPI AG, based in Basel, Switzerland. Sciforum is a platform for scholarly exchange and collaboration developed and maintained by MDPI."
Quality Open Access Market
"Quality Open Access Market is primarily for authors who want to publish their article in open access in a high quality journal and for a reasonable price." Quality to be determined by authors which may be problematic.
Registration form for monthly e-alert reminders.
Scopus - Content Overview
"Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other A&I database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum: timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals; preliminary findings from millions of conference papers; and the thorough analysis in thousands of books."
SMPTE Digital Archive
Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) digital archive from 1916+ ... SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal, >600 standards, recommended practices, and engineering guidelines.
Web of Science Master Journal List
A searchable combined listing of journals in the Web of Science Core Collection (SCIE, SSCI, AHCI & ESCI) as well as the speciality collections (Biol Abst, BIOSIS Prev, Zool Record, CC Connect, & Chem Info products).
Each journal record includes: publisher, ISSNs, & database coverage.
Web of Science Core Collection
Downloadable individual collection lists of journals indexed for: SCIE, SSCI, AHCI, ESCI, & JCR. Each list includes the journal title, ISSN/eISSN, publisher name and address, language, and category.
Additional Web of Science Indexes (Speciality Collections)
Downloadable individual collection lists of journals indexed for: (Biol Abst, BIOSIS Prev, Zool Record, CCs, ESI & Chem Info products). Each list includes the journal title, ISSN/eISSN, publisher name and address, language, and category.
SSRN´s eLibrary provides 739,346 research papers from 342,587 researchers across 30 disciplines (6/2017).