Library: Translation/Transliteration Resources: Tools

Tools

CASSI (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index) / Beyond CASSI
If you have a citation to a Russian journal article, consult CASSI to see if there is a corresponding English language translation journal. Then check the Caltech Library Catalog to see if the translation journal is available in print, or online. If not, check World Cat (Advanced Search) to see if the translation journal is available thru another library. Patent family information will often include English language patents which are often issued later than foreign language patents.

"Beyond CASSI" features journal title abbreviations from early chemical literature and other historical reference sources that may not be listed in the CASSI Search Tool. https://www.cas.org/File%20Library/products/beyond_cassi.pdf
Chemical Abstracts - Coverage of English Translation journals
"CAS began coverage of the following English-translation editions of the foreign-language journals beginning with the first issues carrying 1995 publication dates."
Consolidated Index of Translations Into English
Index to translations of scientific and technical literature from the 18th century to the present time.
Consolidated Index of Translations into English II: 1967-1984 cumulation
Index to translations of scientific and technical literature from the 18th century to the present time.
Consumer Affairs - Compare Reviews for Translation Services
Top 10 most reviewed translation services ... providing industry specifications, price structure and turnaround time.
Einstein Papers Project
"The Einstein Papers Project is engaged in one of the most ambitious scholarly publishing ventures undertaken in the history of science. The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein provides the first complete picture of Einstein’s massive written legacy."
Elsevier Web Shop - Translation Services
"Let our experts take care of translating your paper or presentation from or into Chinese, Portuguese, Spanish, Arabic, Turkish, Russian, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean and many more languages."
Free Translation Online
Offers: Free (500 words) ... text, document, website, or Email translations ... as well as identifying the language in the Free Text option.
Google Translate
Translate text, webpages or upload a document
Google Translated Search
Find and read translated results from webpages in a foreign language.
Journals in Translation
An alphabetical listing of translation journals with a keyword (KWOC) index, an Original Titles Index, and an appendix that provides links between Doklady subject sections and corresponding translation journals.

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
The NTRS provides access to NASA's current and historical technical literature ... approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. Information includes: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
U.S. government reports and complementary materials from international sources, 1964+. Many records include links to the full-text publication on an agency's web site, or can be downloaded directly from the NTIS.

Royal Society. Catalogue of Scientific Papers: 1800-1900
"An [author] index to the titles and dates of scientific papers contained in the transactions of societies, journals, and other periodical works."
v.1-6: 1800-1863 v.7-8: 1864-1873
v.9-11: 1874-1883 v.12: 1800-1883 supplement
v.13-19: 1884-1900
Russian Journals and their translations
A tabular listing of the major Russian journals and their translations, including those that pre-date Springer publications.
SciFinder: Coverage of English-Translation Russian Journals
CAS began coverage of many English-translation editions of the foreign-language journals beginning with the first issues carrying 1995 publication dates.
more...less...
CAS source document coverage practice had been to cover the original language editions of all journals and to ignore any translation journals. This practice had been followed because of the often incomplete nature and poor currency of the translation editions. However, it had become apparent in recent years that some of the translation journals were now published at the same time as the original foreign-language editions and contained the complete contents of the original editions. Because of this, and because the English-language editions are often more widely distributed and archived than the foreign-language editions, CAS decided to begin to selectively switch its coverage to the English-language editions when CAS was confident that there would be no loss in comprehensiveness and timeliness.

SLA-PAM Translations Index
A number of key articles by important physicists have been translated into English (and sometimes from English to other languages), but the results are scattered through many books and journals. The Physics-Astronomy-Math Division of the Special Libraries Association is creating a database to help students and historians locate these useful materials. The starting point is information compiled in Resources for the History of Physics, edited by Stephen G. Brush (University Press of New England, 1972), now long out of print, and other items are being added. https://www.aip.org/history/newsletter/spring2003/physics-articles.htm

Springer
Springer publishes English language translations of Russian language journals. Click the 'more information' icon for a listing of Russian titles with their English translations ~2000+
more...less...
Akusticheskii Zhurnal = Acoustical Physics
Algebra I Logika = Algebra and Logic
Astrofizika = Astrophysics
Astronomicheskii Zhurnal = Astronomy Reports
Atomnaya Energiya = Atomic Energy
Biokhimiya = Biochemistry (Moscow)
Bioorganicheskaya Khimiya = Russian Journal of Bioorganic Chemistry
Byulleten Eksperimental'noi Biologii i Meditsiny = Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine
Defectoskopiya = Russian Journal of Nondestructive Testing
Differentsial'nye Uravneniya = Differential Equations
Doklady Akademiia Nauk = Doklady Biochemistry and Biophysics
Doklady Akademiia Nauk = Doklady Biological Sciences
Doklady Akademiia Nauk = Doklady Chemistry
Doklady Akademiia Nauk = Doklady Earth Sciences
Doklady Akademiia Nauk = Doklady Mathematics
Doklady Akademiia Nauk = Doklady Physical Chemistry
Doklady Akademiia Nauk = Doklady Physics
Ekologicheskaya genetika = Russian Journal of Genetics: Applied Research
Elektrokhimiya= Russian Journal of Electrochemistry
Fizika Elementarnykh Chastits i Atomnogo Yadr = Physics of Particles and Nuclei
Fizika Goreniya i Vzryza = Combustion, Explosion, and Shock Waves
Fizika I Khimiya Obrabotki Materialov = Inorganic Materials: Applied Research
Fizika i Khimiya Stekla = Glass Physics and Chemistry
Fizikokhimiya Poverkhnosti i Zashchita Materialov = Protection of Metals and Physical Chemistry of Surfaces
Fiziko-Tekhnicheskie Problemy Razrabotki Poleznykh Iskopaemykh = Journal of Mining Science
Fizyko-Khimichna Mekhanika Materialiv = Materials Science
Funktsional'Nyi Analiz i Ego Prilozheniya = Functional Analysis and its Applications
Inzhenerno-fizicheskii Zhurnal = Journal of Engineering Physics and Thermophysics
Izmeritel'naya Tekhnika = Measurement Techniques
Izvestia VUZ. Chernaya Metallurgiya = Steel in Translation
Izvestiya Akademii Nauk. Mekhanika Zhidkosti i Gaza = Fluid Dynamics
Izvestiya Akademii Nauk: Seriya Khimicheskaya = Russian Chemical Bulletin
Izvestiya VUZ. Fizika = Russian Physics Journal
Izvestiya VUZ. Radiofizika = Radiophysics and Quantum Electronics
Khimicheskie Volokna = Fibre Chemistry
Khimicheskoe i Neftegazovoe Mashinostroenie = Chemical and Petroleum Engineering
Khimiko-Farmatsevticheskii Zhurnal = Pharmaceutical Chemistry Journal
Khimiya Geterotsiklicheskikh Soedinenii = Chemistry of Heterocyclic Compounds
Khimiya i Tekhnologiya Topliv i Masel = Chemistry and Technology of Fuels and Oils
Khimiya Prirodnykh Soedinenii = Chemistry of Natural Compounds
Khimiya Vysokikh Energii = High Energy Chemistry
Kibernetika = Cybernetics
Kibernetika i Sistemnyi Analiz = Cybernetics and System Analysis
Kinetika i Kataliz = Kinetics and Catalysis
Kletochnye Tekhnologii v Biologii i Meditsine = Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine
Kolloidnyi Zhurnal = Colloid Journal
Koordinatsionnaya Khimiya = Russian Journal of Coordination Chemistry
Matematicheskie Zametki = Mathematical Notes
Materialovedenie = Inorganic Materials: Applied Research
Mathematicheskie Trudy (Sobolev Institute of Mathematics) = Siberian Advances in Mathematics
Meditsinskaya Tekhnika = Biomedical Engineering
Mekhanika Kompozitnykh Materialov = Mechanics of Composite Materials
Metallovedenie i Termicheskaya Obrabotka Metallov = Metal Science and Heat Treatment
Metallurg = Metallurgist
Metrologiya = Measurement Techniques
Neorganicheskie Materialy = Inorganic Materials
Novye Ogneupory = Refractories and Industrial Ceramics
Osnovaniya, Fundamenty i Mechanica Gruntov = Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering
Perspektivnye Materialy = Inorganic Materials: Applied Research
Poroshkovaya Metallurgiya = Powder Metallurgy and Metal Ceramics
Prikladnaya Mekhanika = International Applied Mechanics
Problemy Peredachi Informatsii = Problems of Information Transmission
Problemy Prochnosti = Strength of Materials
Sibirskii Matematicheskii Zhurnal = Siberian Mathematical Journal
Sibirskii Zhurnal Vychislitel'noi Matematiki = Numerical Analysis
Sibirskiy Ekologicheskiy Zhurnal = Contemporary Problems of Ecology
Stal’ = Steel in Translation
Steklo i Keramika = Glass and Ceramics
STIN = Russian Engineering Research
Teoreticheskaya i Eksperimental'naya Khimiya = Theoretical and Experimental Chemistry
Teoreticheski Osnovy Khimicheskoi = Theoretical Foundations of Chemical Engineering
Trudy Matematicheskogo Instituta imeni V.A. Steklova = Proceedings .. Steklov Institute of Mathematics
Ukrains’kyi Matematychnyi Zhurnal = Ukrainian Mathematical Journal
Uspekhi Sovremennoi Biologii = Biology Bulletin Reviews
Vavilovskii Zhurnal Genetiki I Selektsii = Russian Journal of Genetics
Turpion
Turpion publishes leading Russian scientific journals in cooperation with the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Physics, the London Mathematical Society and The Royal Society of Chemistry.
Click on the 'more information' icon for a listing of Russian titles with their English translations.
more...less...
Izvestiia Akademii nauk. Seriia matematicheskaia 0373-2436
Mathematics of the USSR: Izvestija 0025-5726 (1-39,1967-1992)
Izvestiia Rossiiskoi Akademii nauk. Seriia matematicheskaia 0373-2436
Izvestiya Mathematics 1064-5632 (40,1993+)
Kvantovaia elektronika 0368-7147
Soviet journal of quantum electronics 0049-1748 1-22,1971-1992
Quantum Electronics 1063-7818 (23,1993+)
Matematicheskii sbornik 0368-8666
Mathematics of the USSR: Sbornik 0025-5734 (1-74,1967-1992)
Sbornik Mathematics (75,1993+ )
Uspekhi khimii 0042-1308
Russian Chemical Reviews (29,1960+)
Uspekhi matematicheskikh nauk 0042-1316
Russian Mathematical Surveys (15,1960+)
Uspekhi fizicheskikh nauk 0042-1294
Soviet physics, Uspekhi 0038-5670 1-35,1958-1992
Physics-Uspekhi 1063-7869 (36,1993+)